Sketchbook – Trails of Asia

>>> Whenever I travel I like to keep a visual record of the things I see, experience and discover. This is usually done with my digital camera but when I have the time and opportunity I love getting out my watercolours, ink and pencils and working on paper.

>>> This is what I did for my recent trip to South East Asia where I found I had time to make little sketches and collages inspired by the landscapes and scenes I saw in Java, Cambodia and Vietnam. The paper used was rice paper I bought from a little artists studio in Hoi Ann, Vietnam and was perfect for mixing washes of the watercolour paint, other papers were found on my travels, gleened from old books and packaging and used in the collages. Birds are used in some of the pieces (as I love to draw them), the colours and styles inspired by the asian cultures and designs I experienced.

>>> Here are a few pages from my Sketchbook – Trails of Asia, I hope you enjoy looking at them.

>>> All work is Copyright Cheryl Henry 2012. Please do not use, copy or reproduce these images without asking permission first. Thankyou.

2 thoughts on “Sketchbook – Trails of Asia

    1. Hi KT, thankyou! Java is a full on country, but really beautiful in the east – Bromo National Park and Baluran National park are definate must see’s if you make it there some day, I hope you do. Best whimsical wishes!

Leave a Reply

