Letterpress Lushness

>>> Just lately I can’t get enough of Letterpress!

>>> I’ve always been torn between weave and print ever since I did my textile degree and even though I have based the beginning of my design career on weave I find myself increasingly drawn towards printed design and illustration.

>>> One afternoon a little while ago I came across Studio on Fire, a letterpress design company based in Minneapolis who produce really incredible printed illustrations and products like the calender shown above. I fell in love with the unusual colour pallette and the quirky handdrawn illustrations turned into beautifully textural artworks. They’re just stunning!

>>> I think my passion for handmade crafts and design is fuelled when I see really contemporary designs being brought to life through a non mass produced method. To quote Studio on Fire  –  ” In a world of increasingly slick mass production, letterpress printing offers a distinctive difference. The impression of artwork sculpts the paper, creating a work of art that engages the user and creates an interaction incomparable to offset printing.” This makes my heart happy!

Leave a Reply

